If you don’t believe me…check the maps, because maps don’t lie.

I was up and on the road by 5.30.  The drive was pleasantly uneventful. I did, however, have to combat a steady 35 mph cross wind that I thought was going to sail my car south to the gulf of mexico. I had to drive with the wheel turned to the right, just so I could head straight.  To give you perspective on this, you had to exert 3x as much force to open a car door, bugs were splattering against the passenger windows (in addition to the obligatory bug extermination that took place on my windshield), and if you pee’d away from the wind, it would carry about 15′.

Kansas is actually scenic, with its rolling prairies and large wind farms.  I now know why early scientists believed the earth was flat.  I don’t believe this because driving out to CO has converted me into a creationist…no, it is because visually, it felt like I was driving uphill for 1,800 miles, when in fact, I was driving on mostly flat terrain, just arced around the curvature of the earth.  Thus, I was driving around the curvature of the earth towards the precipice that lay at each horizon.  Ok, I also learned that since I didn’t drive off of the face of the earth that the earth must be oblong because after each horizon was another horizon, and so on and so forth, until I arrived in Denver.  As I have said before, drinking alcohol should be done with caution when one first arrives in the mile high city.  My first micro-brew as a resident of CO packed a punch and hit me like rum and coke.  I have officially hooked myself up to intravenous fluids to stave off the immediate onset of dehydration – another welcoming condition of the dry air at high altitude.

I am heading up to Boulder later today to meet the rest of the company and get started on paperwork.  Get started on planning your visit already!

Hasta luego,

Jason, CO

